A Day as a Simpson Education Support Advocate:

The goal for every day is getting the kids in our program to school on time. As an Education Advocate, I am always communicating to the parents how important it is for the kids to go to school every day. I have learned that children with problems in school, also tend to have problems with consistency. The more that children attend school, the more “natural” it becomes. It is a way of life rather than a burden to deal with.

Besides the idea of attendance, my job is different with each family that I work with, depending on their needs. However, I am dedicated to assisting my families with any issues related to education. Today I helped a family enroll in a new school, tomorrow I will go visit a first grade class to see one of my students, and later on this week I will be hanging out with a couple of students after school. Support can come in many forms, and it is up to the family and students to direct the relationship in a way that is most beneficial to their success.

As an Education Support Advocate with the Family Roots Alliance Team (a joint effort between Simpson Housing and Lutheran Social Services), I believe that education is the foundation of life, and a way for us to assist in breaking the cycle of homelessness and poverty. We must support our children, because they are our future.

-James L.

Leave a Reply

